Africa Group

The UNESCO African Group is composed of 54 Member States. UNESCO has 195 Member States and 8 Associate Members making the Africa Group one of the largest groups within UNESCO.

The Africa Group endeavours to articulate Africa’s views, on UNESCO’s area of competence. The Group seeks to strengthen the exchange and consultation mechanisms within UNESCO and Partner Organizations such as the African Union.

Kenya has served as President of the Group in 2008 and Vice-President in 2010.